API Teacher Awards

The Delta Chapter of the American Petroleum Institute, a non-profit organization headquartered in New Orleans, Louisiana, annually recognizes teachers in several parishes in the metropolitan area. The Teaching Excellence Award Program was established in 1987 by the Delta Chapter to pay tribute to and reinforce outstanding teaching in K-12 schools.

The organization is committed to education, and to that end has chosen to recognize the untiring efforts of classroom teachers who continue to deliver quality services to students with minimal compensation and, often, inadequate resources. We recognize teachers in three award categories: Service in Teaching Award ($200), Distinguished Teacher Award ($300), and Chairman's Award ($500). To date, the Delta Chapter has awarded over $130,000 to veteran and new classroom educators in the metropolitan area.

During the academic year nominations are submitted by administrators in public and private schools in Jefferson, Lafourche, Orleans, Plaquemines, St Bernard, St Charles, St Tammany, and Terrebonne parishes.

Teacher applications are reviewed by a Committee of API members. The selection criteria, includes commitment to teaching, resourcefulness, professional involvement and community service. The outstanding teacher model is one whose performance will positively impact students for the remainder of their lives.

A spring recognition reception is held to honor the Teacher Awardees.

2016 Teacher Awards

Lafourche Parish
Lori Gonzales - Distinguished
Mandy Martin - Chairman's
Wendy Roussel - Service

Jefferson Parish
Charlene Byrd - Distinguished
Angela Charles - Service
Arlene Malloy - Certificate
Suzanne Nugent - Chairman's

Orleans Parish
David Cash - Service
Byrain Collins - Chairman's

Plaquemines Parish
Tara Gustin - Distinguished
Roma Kerby - Chairman's

Rebecca Pitts - Certificate
Ann Robichaux - Distinguished
Amy Tassin - Chairman's
Patrice Torres - Service

St Bernard Parish
Alisha Capstick  - Chairman's
Lauren Frazier - Distinguished
Alison Schroeder  - Service

St Charles Parish
Sandra McCullough - Service
Gerard Nugent - Chairman's
Dixie Todaro - Distinguished

St Tammany Parish
Quay Brisco - Service
Veronica Fucich - Distinguished
Jerrilyn Swett - Chairman's

Terrebonne Parish
Summer Skarke - Chairman's

Distinguished Service
National WW II Museum

2015 API-Delta Teacher's Award Luncheon - June 2, 2015

View Event Photos

2015 Teacher Awards Announced.

2014 API-Delta Teacher's Award Luncheon - June 9, 2014

2013 Teacher Awards

API-Delta awards $500 Teaching Grant